Front view
Inv. No.S-1942
ArtistAndreas Müheborn 1979 in Karl-Marx-Stadt, Germany
Title

"Sissi"

from the series "Obersalzberg"
Year2012
Medium

c-print

Dimensions12,7 x 10,2 cm
Edition1/7 (+ 3 a.p.)
Comment

Primary Instincts
The mountains are mighty, the forest stands dark, the uniform fits to a tee. It is too good to be true. The perfection of these pictures is ambivalent, for the signifiers Andreas Mühe assembles in them are poisoned. The mountain is not just any mountain; the uniform, not just any uniform. Nazis at Obersalzberg: that is impossible, inappropriate, an outrage. Why would a photographer even go there today? Mühe says: “I am interested in power.”
Andreas Mühe brings the mountain and the forest and the uniform together in an ostensibly affirmative gesture he immediately breaks up to ironic effect: if you look closely, you recognize that the SS men the pictures capture are urinating on the sublime setting. Sometimes the tiny uniformed figures are virtually invisible amid the confused tangle of branches around them. Sometimes the mountains are too captivating for us to let the public display of nature’s call interfere with their splendor. You do need to look very closely to see the jet of urine. Sometimes the sunlight refracts its image. Yet there it is. At that moment, the picture is transformed: the strange intimacy of the private gesture the beholder witnesses as though by chance undercuts the bombast of what is asserted all around it.
These photographs are a provocation that some beholders may find too clever, too calculated. Yet the allusion to famous affronts in recent art history reveals more than contextual cheek on the photographer’s part. The “Pissing Nazis” may be read in relation to Warhol’s “Piss Paintings” as well as Wolfgang Tillmans’s punk urinating in the studio. Mühe’s Nazis are as frozen as Andres Serrano’s “Piss Christ,” preserved in Urine instead of formaldehyde. And here, too, it is in a certain way the provocation staged by the photographer that suddenly transforms the photograph’s monumental theater into an enigmatic conceptual emblem.
Posture, perfection, tone—in the “Pissing Nazis,” the male muscular armor Wilhelm Reich described is utterly with itself. Yet the orgasmic relief the writer promised is out of reach for these men, set in a monumental environment, constrained by their rigid uniforms. At least they permit themselves a moment of weakness and piss on the majestic scenery.
In the more recent “Obersalzberg” motifs, too, Andreas Mühe’s focus is on posture and mental states, on theatrical staging and appearances. The photographer directs an ensemble of Nazis of different ranks photographing one another, already producing an image within the image within the image illustrating the subjects’ perception of their own significance exalted by delusion or perhaps by puerile self-overestimation. Who would give a definite assessment of the range of primary instincts the National Socialists’ theatrical productions awakened and gratified? Which features of the illuminated spectacles of power, of the speeches the Nazis delivered and the gestures they made, were deliberate and which, unconscious? That is a question we may speculate about even today. By contrast, the effect and unambiguousness of the signifiers photography has a greater capacity to reflect than any other medium are beyond dispute. The emperors of the Wilhelmine Reich staged themselves in paintings; the National Socialists recruited film and photography for their purposes to a historically unprecedented extent.
Andreas Mühe distills all these aspects into a single photograph: an SS officer dressed in a white summer coat, standing before a dramatic dark sky, has his photograph taken by a subordinate. The beholder does not see much of him beyond his rigidly straight back, a bent arm, and the scowl on his lips. These features convey everything we need to know. Andreas Mühe’s photography is interested in the power and vacuity of a pose, the effects of a formulaic posture. Here it is the body that determines consciousness: everything was to be redefined and reinvented in National Socialist culture—brainwashing with a grand gesture.
With the “Obersalzberg” series, Mühe charts a new field of reflection on the influence of photography over the aesthetic of National Socialism, as well as other totalitarian regimes. The people who created the décors, sceneries, and costumes in which the political actors of National Socialism staged themselves with a keen sense for theatrical efficacy—set designers like Benno von Arent, film people like the director Leni Riefenstahl and the cameraman Walter Frentz, and architects like Albert Speer—always worked with a view to the documentation of their productions in films and photographs. Eva Braun’s creation of the figure of Adolf Hitler the private man in the subsequently famous color Super 8 films she shot at Obersalzberg also marks the drawn of private color photography in Germany.
For many years, Andreas Mühe worked on the photographic canon of the postures, gestures, and dispositions of today’s political sphere. He photographed politicians until, as he says, “it started to bore me too much.” Now he invents his own piece of history afresh, an act that owes as much to his intense curiosity as it does to a fundamental anxiety.
(Magdalena Kröner)

S-1942, "Sissi"
Andreas Mühe, "Sissi", 2012
S-1942, Front view
© Andreas Mühe, courtesy Carlier/Gebauer / Bildrecht, Wien
S-1942, verso view
Andreas Mühe, "Sissi", 2012
S-1942, verso view

Ansicht vorne
Inv. Nr.S-1942
KünstlerAndreas Mühegeb. 1979 in Karl-Marx-Stadt, Deutschland
Titel

"Sissi"

aus der Serie "Obersalzberg"
Jahr2012
Technik

C-Print

Bildgröße12,7 x 10,2 cm
Auflage1/7 (+ 3 a.p.)
Kommentar

Primärinstinkte
Die Berge sind mächtig, der Wald dunkelt, die Uniform sitzt. Es ist zu schön, um wahr zu sein. Die Perfektion dieser Bilder ist zwiespältig, denn die Zeichen, die Andreas Mühe in ihnen versammelt, sind vergiftet. Der Berg ist nicht irgendein Berg. Die Uniform ist nicht irgendeine Uniform. Nazis am Obersalzberg: Das ist unmöglich, daneben, unerhört. Was will ein Fotograf da heute noch? Mühe sagt: „Mich interessiert Macht.“
Andreas Mühe bringt Berg und Wald und Uniform in scheinbar affirmativer Geste zusammen, um sie gleichzeitig ins Ironische aufzubrechen. Denn wer genau hinschaut, erkennt, dass die SS-Männer, die hier ins Bild gerückt sind, in die erhabene Landschaft urinieren. Manchmal ist der winzige Uniformierte zu gut getarnt vom wirren Geäst um ihn herum. Manchmal ist der Glanz der Berge zu einnehmend, um sich von der zur Schau gestellten Notdurft stören zu lassen. Man muss schon sehr genau hinschauen, um den Urinstrahl zu sehen. Manchmal wird er durch die Sonne gebrochen. Doch er ist da. In diesem Augenblick verwandelt sich das Bild: Die seltsame Intimität der privaten Geste, deren Zeuge der Betrachter scheinbar zufällig wird, unterläuft den Bombast dessen, was darum herum behauptet wird.
Diese Fotografien sind eine Provokation, die manchem zu ausgeklügelt sein mag. Doch in ihrem Anschluß an berühmte Affronts der jüngeren Kunstgeschichte offenbart sich mehr als ein kontextuelles Augenzwinkern des Fotografen. Die „Pissing Nazis“ lassen sich in Bezug zu Warhols „Piss Paintings“ ebenso lesen wie zu Wolfgang Tillmans’ ins Studio urinierendem Punk. Mühes Nazis sind so erstarrt wie Andres Serranos „Piss Christ“, der in Urin statt in Formaldehyd eingelegt wurde. Und in gewisser Weise ist es ebenso die vom Fotografen inszenierte Provokation, die das Foto plötzlich vom Monumentaltheater in ein konzeptuelles Denkbild verwandelt.
Haltung, Perfektion, Körperspannung – bei den „Pissing Nazis“ ist der männliche Muskelpanzer, den Wilhelm Reich beschrieb, ganz bei sich selbst. Von der vom Autor in Aussicht gestellten orgasmischen Erleichterung sind diese Männer in der monumentalen Umgebung und der Steifheit ihrer Uniformen jedoch weit entfernt. Immerhin: sie erlauben sich einen Moment der Schwäche und pissen in die majestätische Landschaft.
Auch in den neueren „Obersalzberg“-Motiven Andreas Mühes geht es um Haltung, Befindlichkeit, Inszenierung und Außenwirkung. Der Fotograf inszeniert Nazis unterschiedlichen Ranges, die sich gegenseitig fotografieren: Hier entsteht bereits das Bild im Bild im Bild einer wahnhaft gesteigerten oder auch pubertär überhöhten Wahrnehmung der eigenen Geltung. Wer vermöchte abschließend zu beurteilen, welche Palette von Primärinstinkten in den Inszenierungen der Nationalsozialisten wachgerufen und befriedigt wurde? Was in den illuminierten Spektakeln der Macht, in den Reden und Gesten der Nationalsozialisten wissentlich und was unbewusst war, darüber lässt sich bis heute spekulieren. Über Effekt und Eindeutigkeit der Zeichen hingegen, welche die Fotografie zu spiegeln imstande ist wie kein anderes Medium, lässt sich nicht räsonieren. Die Kaiser des Wilhelminischen Reiches inszenierten sich in Gemälden; die Nationalsozialisten nutzten wie niemand vor ihnen in der Geschichte Film und Fotografie für ihre Zwecke.
Andreas Mühe konzentriert all das in einem einzigen Foto: Ein SS-Mann im weißen Sommerrock lässt sich vor dramatisch dunklem Himmel von einem Untergebenen fotografieren. Der Betrachter sieht von ihm nicht viel außer einem durchgedrückten Rücken, dem angewinkelten Arm und den heruntergezogenen Mundwinkeln. Sie vermitteln alles, was man wissen muss. Die Fotografie Andreas Mühes interessiert sich für die Macht und die Leere einer Pose, die Wirkung und Formelhaftigkeit einer Haltung. Der Körper bestimmt hier das Bewusstsein: In der nationalsozialistischen Kultur sollte alles neu definiert und neu erfunden werden – Gehirnwäsche mit großer Geste.

In der „Obersalzberg“-Serie eröffnet Mühe ein neues Feld des Nachdenkens über den Einfluss der Fotografie auf die Ästhetik der Nationalsozialismus, aber auch anderer totalitärer Regimes. Die mit Bühnenbildnern wie Benno von Arent, Filmleuten wie der Regisseurin Leni Riefenstahl und dem Kameramann Walter Frentz und Architekten wie Albert Speer entworfenen Kulissen, Szenenbilder und Kostüme, in denen die Politdarsteller des Nationalsozialismus sich mit großem Gespür für den Effekt selbst in Szene setzten, waren unmittelbar auf ihre filmische und fotografische Dokumentation ausgerichtet. Dabei war es Eva Braun, die mit ihren berühmt gewordenen, in Farbe mit einer Super-Acht-Kamera auf dem Berghof gedrehten Filmen die private Figur Adolf Hitlers schuf und zugleich den Beginn privater Farbfotografie in Deutschland markierte.
Am fotografischen Kanon der Haltungen, Gesten und Verfasstheiten heutiger Politik hat Andreas Mühe viele Jahre gearbeitet. Er hat Politiker fotografiert, „bis es mir zu langweilig wurde“, wie er sagt. Nun erfindet er sich seinen Teil der Geschichte selbst, und das ist sowohl einer großen Neugier als auch einem fundamentalen Unbehagen geschuldet.
(Magdalena Kröner)

S-1942, "Sissi"
Andreas Mühe, "Sissi", 2012
S-1942, Ansicht vorne
© Andreas Mühe, courtesy Carlier/Gebauer / Bildrecht, Wien
S-1942, Rückansicht
Andreas Mühe, "Sissi", 2012
S-1942, Rückansicht